O.C. Roberts Gets A Little Help From His Friends… O.C. Roberts & Friends

No Comments Latest Reggae News

O.C. Roberts Gets A Little Help From His Friends… O.C. Roberts & Friends

Veteran Reggae music artiste O.C. Roberts has released his new seven track EP O.C. Roberts & Friends available now on his own O.C. Roberts Music label and distributed worldwide by Tuff Gong International. O.C. gets a little help from his longtime musical friends on this EP including Glen Washington, Carl Malcolm and NYC based singer Chyna Nicole. He was also assisted once again by Jamaican legend Ansel Collins on the song “All Night Loving” and music production side. The relationship between the two that goes back to the formitive days of Reggae.

The EP features original and some great cover versions of some familiar favorites. This is his third release since his album Made In Jamaica was released last year.

 EP Tracks:
1. O.C. Roberts feat. Chyna Nicole – Having My Baby
2. Glen Washington – Rainy Days
3. O.C. Roberts – Never Can Say Goodbye
4. Carl Malcolm – Muck Up
5. O.C. Roberts – Ring Of Fire
6. Ansel Collins – All Night Loving
7. O.C. Roberts – How Glad I Am

O.C. Roberts started as a young man honing his craft in Kingston at The Bohemia Club, where he was the lead singer of the resident band The Mighty Titans. They backed many artists such as Marcia Griffith, Dennis Brown, The Wailing Souls, The Mighty Diamonds, The Tamlins to name a few.

While performing, he was discovered by Dougie Rod Bryan, lead guitarist of The Revolutioniares recording band, who’s drummer was Sly Dunbar, and keyboard player was Ansel Collins. O.C. recorded the reggae version of Teddy Pendergrass’ smash hit “Wake Up Everybody” for Sonya Pottinger’s High Note label which went on to hit #16 on the British Reggae Charts. He went on to record “Funny Feelings”, “Living a Life” and “Hey You” for record label Electro Sun. All of these songs were backed by the tight sound of The Revolutionaires.

O.C. then moved to Detroit and met Ian Allen (now at Universal Music Group) and Ira McLaughlin (formerly of Atlantic Records), and crafted a Reggae band together named The Samaritans which quickly became the #1 reggae band in Detroit. 

After that success, O.C. took a hiatus to focus on radio for 12 years at WRCJ 90.9 FM. He completed his latest album Made In Jamaica in 2019 including songs, “Made in Jamaica”, “Haters”, “Cut Them Off”, and “Calling My Name” which is released and distributed worldwide through Tuff Gong International, Bob Marley’s label and distribution company

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *